The NBA was founded in 1946 and only four of the original  eleven franchises that made up the league. It was not until 2004 that the NBA grew to have the 30 franchises that it now has today. The last team to be added was the Charlotte Bobcats/Hornets. There are some rumors that the NBA is looking at possible expansion cities to grow to 32 franchises.  The NBA has had 5 commissioners and is currently under Adam Silver’s control. However it was under David Stern’s 30 year tenure that the popularity of the sport soared to the level that it is at today.

Nineteen different franchises have won a Larry O’Brien Trophy but only 5 of them have won more than three. The Boston Celtics lead the rest of the NBA with 17 banners but the Los Angeles Lakers are not too far behind with 16. The NBA regular season consist of 82 games and then it is followed by the playoffs where the team that wins 4 times in 4 different best out of seven series wins the championship.